Each reading unit focuses on one or more specific areas of literature (the focus of each unit is listed at the bottom of this page). Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are woven into each unit throughout the year. There are a variety of excerpts from both fiction & nonfiction sources, both. Students will have a textbook or ebook to use at home in order to complete nightly reading & homework assignments and test preparation. There will be a class set for use in school. Supplemental texts will be added to enhance both the content and the skill areas. Additionally, we will work to reinforce skills through novel study a couple of times during the year.

The focus of each anthology unit is as follows. Units are listed in the sequence covered in class:

  • Unit 8, part 1: Reading for information

  • Unit 1: Plot, conflict, & setting

  • Unit 2: Analyzing character & point of view

  • The Outsiders

  • Unit 3: Understanding theme

  • Unit 4: Mood, tone, & style

  • Unit 8: Argument, & persuasion

  • The Giver

  • The art of storytelling

A variety of resources are available here. Resources will be updated on a regular basis, so check back. You can access resources through the links below or through the table of contents. Check Google Classroom for resources for individual assignments.